How I solved my key not working on my keyboard ?!!!hardware problem!!! Solved using software…

Manohar Shrestha
2 min readJun 12, 2021

--

A few days ago, I got some problem with the keyboard’s keys. Button ‘K’ does not function anymore. I checked with every solution on Google from hardware to software then I found the problem in hardware. The Key was damaged and I have to replace it with a new one. it’s a huge amount for me to replace with a new one. Then I bought an external keyboard. Somehow, I adjusted but I have to move my laptop from home to college. I have to carry a keyboard inside me. It was so uncomfortable and it consumes more space and I have no other option better than that.
‌I was working on my projects on a laptop. Suddenly something crazy thought came to my mind, what if I can remap the keys with unused keys or frequently not used key. Then I google the term then I found the someone is writing on the topic. I tried out the solution and it worked. I was so happy😊.

so how I remap the key?
‌The standard Windows keyboard layout hasn’t changed much in the past few decades, and there’s a chance you don’t use every key on your keyboard. I remap the ‘k’ key with the right ‘alt’ key because most of the time I don’t use that key. Ultimately it saves me. It saved my money, time, and the load I carry.
‌here how I did it.
If you merely want to remap one key to another, SharpKeys is a simple, open-source program that uses the Windows registry. , I use SharpKeys to make my right ‘Alt’ key act as the ‘K’ key.

‌1. Download the software in zip version which is portable, which doesn’t require installation, and after download start it up.

2.To remap a key, click the add button and choose your keys from two columns

‌the left column denotes the key you’ll press (e.g., alt key or ctrl key)

3.The right column denotes the action that the key will take (e.g., acting as an ‘a’ or ‘k’ or any other button.

4.‌You can also type the key button and press a key on your keyboard.

5. Click the okey button and you can see the setting is added now, click the write to registry button. Restart for this change to take the effect.

https://player.vimeo.com/video/562115845

Download link for SharpKeys 👉 SharpKeys | randyrants.com

--

--